Grief Counseling Near Brookfield

Home Grief Counseling Near Brookfield

Grief Counseling Near Brookfield

Experiencing a traumatic event, loss, or event significant life event can lead to feelings of grief. When coping with grief, a person may experience feelings of depression, anger, hopelessness, and more, all of which could interfere with one’s ability to live a healthy and productive life. At Life Insight Therapy Collective, we know how challenging living with grief is, and we want to help. We offer services for grief counseling near Brookfield that are personalized, effective, and intentional. If you are experiencing grief, please call our office directly today to learn more about how one of our grief counselors can help you. 

What Is Grief?

Grief is a very complicated emotion, and one that can be overwhelming. It’s important to remember that grief is a natural and expected reaction to loss, although how each person experiences grief can vary. Grief can set in following many different types of events and losses, including divorce; the loss of a spouse, child, parent, or another loved one; a traumatic event, such as a car accident or sexual assault; a personal injury that results in a disability; and more. 

The Stages of Grief

The stages of grief may look different for different people. That being said, most psychologists have agreed that there are five stages of grief and loss. These are–

  • Denial. During the first stage of grief, an individual experiencing grief may try to deny the reality of the situation. For example, if a loved one has been diagnosed with a terminal illness, one may try to deny that it is happening by failing to acknowledge the situation altogether. This stage also involves avoidance and isolation. 
  • Anger. The second stage of grief can be challenging to experience and watch–it’s anger. Anger may take the form in outbursts, and may be aimed at family members, strangers, friends, and even inanimate objects. 
  • Bargaining. Bargaining is a phase in the grief process where someone makes “if only…” statements and attempts to regain control by thinking of what could have been. Using the example of a loved one being diagnosed with a terminal illness, a griever might say something to the effect of, “If only she had gone to the doctor earlier…”
  • Depression. Depression refers to a feeling of hopelessness and sadness, a lack of wanting to engage in activities that one once loved, and isolation and withdrawal. Depression is a very normal part of the grieving process.
  • Acceptance. Finally, after making their way through the five stages, most people will arrive at acceptance. This does not mean that feelings of sadness or loss will cease, but rather that the person has come to accept the loss as a reality.

Call Today to Get Started 

If you have suffered a loss and are experiencing grief, our experienced grief counselors want to help you. For services for grief counseling near Brookfield, please call our office directly, send us a message requesting more information, or use our website to schedule an appointment at your convenience. We are here to support you.

Request an Appointment

You’re Just A Call Away
Start Living Your Best Life

(630) 563-0044

Your Best Life Is Just One Call Away

We will help you find the answers, healing & happiness you envision.


What Our Past Clients Have To Say